All Getmyboat operators are required to and are responsible for operating legally within and fully compliant of local guidelines — this includes obtaining proper registrations, passes, permits, etc., meeting vessel and captain requirements, using the correct docks and boating areas for commercial activities, and any other stipulations by your local laws and facility regulations.
To help, we’ve gathered the following essential details for boating on Lake Travis.
Lake Travis is a great place to swim, boat, fish, water ski, and enjoy other water sports. There are also lots of parks and recreation areas around the lake where you can camp, hike, and picnic. To help keep Lake Travis beautiful and safe, please check out the information below.
Party Boat Operator License:
A Party Boat Operator License is necessary for individuals operating a charter vessel (except sailboats) carrying more than six passengers, with a length of 30 feet or more, and operating on inland waters. The sole exemption applies to operators possessing a USCG OUPV License or a higher level of Captain's License.
Additional details can be found here
If obtaining a U.S. Coast Guard license is necessary, Getmyboat has joined forces with Mariners Learning System to simplify the certification process. Use the promo code GETMYBOAT10 for 10% off all products.
To keep your passengers safe, protect your business, and follow the rules while renting out a boat, make sure you have the right insurance. We suggest contacting our partner Boat Charter Insurance (BCI) to understand what insurance you need.
Pick Up / Drop off
There are various spots for dropping off and picking up rental boats. Here are a few you should explore.
Mansfield Dam Boat Ramp
Pace Bend Park - Collier Cove Boat Ramp
Pace Bend Park - Tatum Cove Boat Ramp
Temporary Concession Permit
Weekday Rental $20 per Day
Weekend/Holiday Rental $40 per Day
For more information, please contact the Parks’ Main Office at 512-854-PARK.
To register your boat, you will need to provide the following information:
- Purchase date
- Full first and last name along with current
- Vessels (HIN) hull identification number
- Length of Vessel
- The kind of engine(s) on the vessel
State of Texas Registration
- Possession of a valid boater education certificate is mandatory. This applies to boaters born after September 1, 1993, operating motorized watercraft over 15HP or wind-blown vessels over 14ft.
- All motorized boats, regardless of length, sailboats 14 feet in length or longer, or any sailboat with auxiliary engine(s) must be titled and registered in Texas. USCG Documented vessels need to be registered (no title will be issued).
- Ensure your boat is equipped with necessary safety gear, including a life jacket for each person on board, a fire extinguisher, a first-aid kit, and a sound-producing device.
- Adhere to all other relevant boating laws and regulations, encompassing rules about navigation, anchoring, and fishing.