All boating operators on GetMyBoat must follow local and federal laws. Requirements include by not limited to updated registration, passes, permits, boat inspections, captain credentials, and appropriate docks.

Lake Powell is a man-made reservoir that offers a unique and breathtaking escape. With its towering red rock cliffs, winding canyons, and hidden coves, Lake Powell is a paradise for outdoor enthusiasts of all kinds. Boaters can explore the lake's many waterways, while anglers can cast their lines for trophy bass and trout. Here is a beginner's guide to Lake Powell's boating rules and regulations.


To renew or update your boat registration we will provide a link below for easy access.

State of Arizona Registration

State of Utah Registration

Public Launch Ramps

  • Antelope Point Public (closed)
  • Wahweap Main
  • Wahweap State Line/Auxiliary
  • Halls Crossing
  • Bullfrog Main
  • Bullfrog North
  • Hite Public Ramp North Wash


To rent out your vessel you will need a proper insurance policy that allows boat rentals. We are partnered with Boat Charter Insurance who can give you a quote on a commercial insurance policy. There are several other companies that can assist you with finding coverage as well.

Boat Charter Insurance

Arizona Requirements

You must have a valid U.S. driver's license or a boater education to operate a vessel. We strongly recommend going through a boater education course.

State of Arizona Boaters Education

Arizona's Game and Fish Information

Utah Requirements

When operating a motorboat and transporting passengers for payment on Bear Lake, Flaming Gorge, or Lake Powell, it is necessary for the operator to possess a valid U.S. Coast Guard Master’s License with the appropriate endorsements

The State of Utah requires any boat operations that provide rental services to register as a commercial operation. More details can be found below.

Motorboats and personal watercraft (PWC) must have liability insurance when operating on Utah waters. The minimum insurance requirements are $25,000/$50,000 for bodily injury or death, $15,000 for property damage, or $65,000 combined per accident. Motorboats with engines less than 50 horsepower and all airboats are exempt from this requirement. Proof of insurance must be carried onboard the motorboat whenever it is in operation.

Utah Commerical Boating

Utah Rental Requirements

USCG Captains License - (Use the promo code GETMYBOAT10 for 10% off all products.)